Loading Admission Guardian content
Loading Admission Guardian content

1 programme ยท 1 institution. Check the admission year and requirements.

1 programme ยท 1 institution. Check the admission year and requirements.
Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science (HITS) is a deemed-to-be university at Padur on Chennaiโs Old Mahabalipuram Road. The institute says it began in 1985 and received deemed-university status in 2008. Its current website describes a broad portfolio spanning engineering and technology, architecture, management, law, aviation, design, applied sciences and arts and sciences. That range makes programme-level comparison more useful than judging the institution from its overall name or one flagship discipline. About HITS ยท Official address
The official site presents undergraduate, postgraduate, diploma, research and doctoral study. Engineering and technology form a large part of the catalogue, alongside architecture, management, law and other disciplines. The institutionโs admissions page sets out eligibility by programme and award; requirements are not uniform across the catalogue. A programme name in the live catalogue should therefore be checked against its own current eligibility, duration, fees and intake before an applicant compares offers.
The range of subjects is a starting point, not a ranking of the schools or a promise that every course is offered at every level. HITSโ About page names engineering, technology, architecture, management, law, fashion design, aviation, applied and allied sciences, and arts and sciences. Its admissions page separates undergraduate engineering, undergraduate arts and science, postgraduate engineering and arts and science, research, and international admission information. Applicants should compare the exact award and school, because eligibility and selection differ across these groups.
For technical programmes, the About page says undergraduate and postgraduate courses are approved by AICTE. It names five NBA-certified undergraduate branches: aeronautical engineering, automobile engineering, computer science and engineering, civil engineering, and mechanical engineering. The Accreditation page has a broader B.Tech list that includes additional branches. The pages do not show matching award-period details in the captured sections. Ask for the certificate that names your branch and intake; a general statement about โB.Tech programmesโ is not proof that every specialization shares the same accreditation. Architecture applicants should also check the Council of Architecture approval and current professional registration requirements for the exact course.
The instituteโs About page still displays several ranking statements dated 2022. Those are historical institutional claims, not a current comparison for the 2027-28 edition. This overview does not carry them forward as current ranks. When comparing universities, use the same agency, category, edition and institution row, and distinguish an overall ranking from an engineering, university, architecture or management result.
HITSโ About page states that technical programmes at undergraduate and postgraduate levels are approved by AICTE. It also identifies specific undergraduate engineering programmes as NBA-accredited. A separate accreditation page presents a broader list of programmes under its NBA heading. Those lists do not align exactly, so do not assume every engineering branch has the same accreditation or current validity. Ask the relevant school for the programme-specific NBA certificate and validity dates if accreditation affects your choice. About HITS ยท Accreditation
The institutionโs accreditation page says HITS was accredited A+ in 2023, while its Admission Guardian profile currently stores A. The captured page does not show the awardโs validity or expiry date. Treat the active grade as unresolved until HITS supplies the current certificate and validity; do not use either label as proof of the active cycle without that document. Accreditation
HITSโ general admissions page describes an online HITSEEE entrance examination for undergraduate applicants and says selection considers entrance-test marks together with Class 12 or equivalent marks under university norms. It also publishes programme-specific eligibility details, including separate rules for lateral-entry B.Tech applicants and postgraduate programmes. The page is not a dated 2027-28 admission notice, so its general description does not establish this editionโs application dates, exam schedule, seat count or final eligibility wording. Check the live admissions portal and the current programme notice before applying. Admissions and eligibility
The same general page describes HITSEEE as a two-hour online exam with 120 questions in Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry, followed by a rank list based on the entrance score and qualifying-examination marks. It says dates are announced through media advertisements. Treat those details as the pageโs published general description, not as a promise that the upcoming exam will retain the same duration or question count. Verify the current brochure before planning preparation or travel.
For B.Tech, the page states that applicants register for the online entrance exam after passing 10+2 or an accepted equivalent. It describes Physics and Mathematics as compulsory, a related third subject, at least 50% in the listed subjects (45% for reserved-category candidates) and a separate minimum of 60% in Mathematics. The page also lists Cambridge and vocational-stream provisions. These are high-impact eligibility details on an undated page: confirm category rules, accepted subject combinations and equivalency with the admissions office for the selected intake.
Architecture follows a separate path. The general page states that B.Arch applicants need the specified school or diploma qualification and an aptitude test such as NATA or JEE. It does not clarify a 2027-28 exam notice or the exact exam paper in the general text captured here. Confirm the current Council of Architecture eligibility and the universityโs required test before submitting an application.
Lateral-entry B.Tech applicants should not use the first-year criteria as a substitute. HITSโ page describes entry to the second year for candidates with an appropriate engineering or technology diploma, or a qualifying science degree with Mathematics, and states a minimum mark threshold. The exact qualification and branch equivalence need confirmation from the school. Postgraduate engineering and other postgraduate admission requirements are also separated by programme. Ask for the relevant departmentโs current eligibility sheet rather than applying a single โgraduate degreeโ rule across all postgraduate courses.
The practical sequence is to select a programme, obtain its current notice, check the named entrance route and eligibility, and then confirm the application deadline and required documents. The general page says applications must reach the admission office before the deadline in the relevant advertisement. It does not provide a live deadline in the captured content. Applicants should keep a copy of the programme notice and fee terms that applied when they applied.
For each programme, confirm the accepted entrance route, minimum academic qualifications, subject prerequisites, application deadline, counselling or interview stages, document list and refund rules in writing. The general page says qualifying applicants may apply to programmes and that B.Tech selection is based on entrance marks and qualifying-examination marks. It does not provide one common cutoff that can safely be applied to every school or branch. Do not rely on an undated summary, old score estimate or another programmeโs criteria as a current guarantee.
The institute locates HITS at Padur, Chennai, and describes eight academic blocks, fourteen research centres, workshops and laboratories. Its About page also lists a library, research opportunities, student exchanges and industrial visits among the institutionโs academic environment. These are institution-published descriptions; the pages reviewed do not provide a current inventory, access schedule or capacity for each facility. Applicants who need a particular lab, accessible route, clinic service, residence arrangement or transport option should ask the campus for its current operating details. About HITS ยท Campus clinic
The Campus Clinic page lists doctors on working days, a staff nurse on campus around the clock, a four-bed observation room, free student and staff consultations and a 24-hour ambulance facility. It also describes first aid and referral to nearby hospitals. This is useful support information, but the captured page does not give a dated service roster, response-time commitment or current hospital agreement. Students with ongoing care needs should contact the clinic before arrival to confirm which services, medicines and referral arrangements are active. The page names memoranda of understanding with Chettinad and Praveena Hospitals but does not state their current terms or validity. It also specifies all-day nurse and ambulance availability separately from doctor availability.
The official scholarship page lists a mix of central and state schemes, including schemes for minority communities, SC/ST/OBC/EBC/DNT students, students with disabilities and other eligible groups. HITSโ general page says meritorious and athletic students may apply for scholarships. These references do not establish a universal tuition waiver or a particular award amount for every course. Check each schemeโs current eligibility, income or marks conditions, application window, renewal rules and whether the award applies to the programme you are considering. HITS scholarships
The institutionโs scholarship page names several internal awards. It describes the Dr. K.C.G. Verghese Memorial Scholarship for Class 12 school toppers, using PCM marks for engineering and overall marks for other streams. The Dr. Elizabeth Verghese Girl Empowerment Scholarship is described for female applicants with exceptional academic performance or economic need, subject to approval. The page also lists awards for HITSEEE and HITSCAT rank holders in ranks 1-100, a Wright Brothers scholarship for aeronautical or aerospace students based on academic performance or projects, sports awards, a local-community scholarship and a physically challenged scholarship. These descriptions identify possible eligibility pathways; the captured page does not state an award amount or guarantee that a scheme is open in the next intake.
The page separately lists external schemes such as AICTE Pragati and Saksham, PMSSS and other central or state support. Those schemes have their own application windows and criteria. Applicants should confirm whether HITS is an eligible institution for the specific scheme and whether the award can be combined with university support. Do not subtract a displayed scheme amount from tuition until the award is confirmed in writing for your course and year.
HITSโ placement page describes career preparation, placement drives, internships and student registration through its placement process. It also includes programme-level placement material and salary categories. The page reviewed contains multiple academic-year and programme contexts; its headline or category labels should not be converted into a single institution-wide placement rate or salary average without the underlying cohort, eligible-student count, placed-student count and salary basis. Compare the relevant programmeโs full report, reporting year, denominator and whether the measure is CTC or take-home pay. A top offer, an average and a median answer different questions. Placements at HITS
The latest academic year shown in the captured summary table is 2023-24. HITS reports overall strength of 1,452, 1,364 students placed and a 93.94 placement-summary figure. In the same year, the page lists 683 students and 644 placed for four-year engineering, with a โSalary (LPA)โ entry of 4.6; for five-year architecture and planning it lists 76 and 65, with 4.5; and for three-year SLAAS it lists 342 and 340, with 3.5. The page does not explain whether those salary entries are averages, medians or another statistic, nor whether the strength figures represent all enrolled students or only placement-eligible candidates. Treat them as the universityโs reported table entries, not as comparable guarantees.
The placement page also describes a process: training, registration for drives, recruiter presentations, assessments and interviews, with the placement calendar released in advance. Its training policy describes attendance and preparation expectations. These are process statements, not a promise that each student receives an offer. Ask the department for its latest programme-level report and the exact placement eligibility rules, including any attendance or academic conditions, before comparing outcomes across branches. The courseโs location, delivery mode and internship requirements may also affect the roles and employers available to a particular student.
This overview does not give a single HITS fee figure because costs depend on programme, branch and intake, while additional items may be billed separately. Before paying an application or admission amount, request the written fee schedule for the exact programme and academic year, with tuition, one-time charges, examination fees, hostel and transport shown separately. Confirm scholarship deductions and refund dates against the same schedule.
HITS may merit a closer look if its programme mix, Chennai location and institution-described research and workshop facilities fit your plans. The useful next step is to compare two or three specific programmes rather than the university-wide profile: check their current admissions notice, curriculum, accreditation certificate, complete fee schedule, accommodation terms and cohort-level placement report. The official pages reviewed here provide starting points, but several are general pages without a visible cycle date. For details that affect eligibility, total cost or a decision to relocate, ask the school for current written confirmation instead of treating an undated page as a 2027-28 guarantee.
Loading programmes and admission routes.
Selected ranking categories, with the recorded year beside each result. Open all records for the complete history.
113 published records ยท Lower numeric ranks are stronger
IIRF
Engineering ยท private
#782024
India Today
Engineering ยท private
#422024
Find a program, read its fee details and explore the admission requirements.
Summary of the programs shown below. First-year fee
| Course | Stream | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor of Science [B.Sc] | Science | 57500 |
| Bachelor of Science [B.Sc] (Automobile Maintenance) | Science | 57500 |
| Bachelor of Law [L.L.B] | Law | 186500 |
| Master of Business Administration [MBA] | Management | 220000 |
| Bachelor of Technology [B.Tech] | Engineering | 229500 |
Specializations
Eligibility: 10+2
Specializations
Eligibility: 10+2
Eligibility: Graduation
Specializations
All accepted exams
Eligibility: Graduation
Specializations
All accepted exams
Eligibility: 10+2
1 exam with cutoff data available
Accenture
Aegis Limited
Air India
Amazon
Apollo Tyres
Yes, Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science (HITS) is considered good for Aeronautical Engineering. It is the institute's flagship program and is noted for having the best infrastructure and industry tie-ups in the region.
HITS Chennai and Hindusthan College of Engineering and Technology (HiCET) Coimbatore are entirely different institutions. HITS is a Deemed University located in Chennai, while HiCET is a separate college located in Coimbatore.
Yes, direct admission is possible at Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science (HITS) through the Management Quota. To be eligible, candidates must meet the minimum requirement of securing at least 50% marks in their 12th standard.
HITS does not enforce a strict uniform. However, the institute maintains a strict formal dress code, which requires students to wear collared shirts and shoes.
HITSโs public placement page does not provide a CSE-only placement rate or salary measure. Its latest displayed 2023-24 UG four-year Engineering row reports 644 placed from a listed strength of 683 and a โSalary(LPA)โ value of 4.6, but does not define that value as an average, median or highest offer. Ask the placement office for the current CSE cohort and metric definitions.
About HITS Chennai.
Colleges cannot rewrite published reviews. We remove spam and abuse.
Ask the communityWhat should future students know?
Tell us which course you're considering. We'll help you work out the next step.
Programme information: Official source ยท Source as of: 2026-11-02
Each route applies only to this named programme and the stated year.
HITSEEE ยท 2027-28
Admission-route evidence: Official source ยท Source as of: 2026-11-02
1 recorded programme ยท 1 institution. Admission years and conditions apply to the named programme.
Audi
Bosch Limited
Capgemini
CGI
Collabera
CSS Corp
DBS Bank
Decathlon
DLF
HCL
HDFC Bank
Honeywell
Huawei
IBM
IDBI Bank
Indian Navy
Indigo
Infosys
ITC Hotels
Jet Airways
Juspay
Kaar Technologies
L&T Infotech
Mahindra & Mahindra
Mayur Wovens
Mphasis
MRF
Newgen
Oracle
Qspiders
Radisson
Ramco Systems
Royal Enfield
Saint Gobain Glass
Saksoft
Servion Global Solutions
TAFE
Tata Aig
TATA Communications
Tech Mahindra
Vestas Technology R&D Chennai Pvt Ltd
Virtusa
Volkswagen
Wipro
Yaskawa
ZohoIn this preview: 5 photos ยท 0 videos
Get instant Partner access after mobile verification. Your public edits are reviewed before they go live.