GNM fees: compare the full three-year cost, not one headline figure
There is no single national GNM tuition amount in the official material reviewed. Fees depend on state, institution, seat category, cohort, clinical arrangements and what is bundled into the quoted amount. Compare a written fee table by year and by charge type. Ask whether tuition includes admission, board registration, examination, clinical placement, uniform or laboratory costs; then add hostel, mess, travel, books, deposits, insurance, application and bank charges only where the institution says they apply. Do not treat an institution example or a state fee table as a nationwide range.
Two dated official examples
For Odisha’s 2026-27 counselling, the state prospectus lists private GNM course/admission fees of ₹37,300 for year one and ₹36,000 for each of years two and three. The schedule says this bundle includes hospital clinical-training fees, board registration and verification of 10th and 10+2 certificates. It is a state-published category fee for that admission session, not a tuition-only quote and not the fee for every private nursing school in India. The GNM line does not provide a separate hostel or mess amount, so ask the allotted school for those costs rather than assuming they are included. (Odisha 2026-27 fee schedule)
As an institution-specific comparison, Netaji Subhas University’s schedule for the GNM 2026-29 session sets six installments of ₹50,000 each, totalling ₹3,00,000 over three years. The notice says admission, tuition, library and computer fees are included and that the university may revise fees. The one-page schedule does not state a hostel or mess amount; request that separately and confirm the current published version with the University before committing. This figure applies to that named institution and session only. (NSU GNM 2026-29 schedule)
The examples are not directly equivalent: one is an Odisha state counselling table with a described clinical-training bundle, and the other is a university's six-installment fee schedule. They show why comparisons should match seat type and inclusion basis rather than convert a handful of numbers into a national average. A school may separately charge for hostel, food, transport, uniform, clinical travel or refundable deposits. Require an itemized, year-wise amount and written confirmation of which items are compulsory.
Application payments and refunds
Odisha's 2026-27 admission notice set a ₹500 GNM application fee, excluding applicable bank charges, and its form window ran from 19 June through 15 July 2026. That cycle is past; applicants should use the new state's or year's current notice, not reuse these dates or fees. The Odisha guideline also describes a part-course payment after allotment and says that, for its counselling process, 90% of the deposited fee is refundable if a candidate leaves after taking admission but before counselling and admission conclude; it states no refund after the process is over. These terms are specific to Odisha's 2026-27 procedure and should not be applied to a private institution's independent policy. Read the current prospectus and seat-allotment letter carefully. (Odisha 2026-27 admission notice · Odisha guidelines)
Build a comparable cost sheet
For each school, record: academic year and campus; government, counselling or management seat; annual tuition/course charge; one-time admission fee; examination and board registration; clinical placement fee; refundable caution deposit; hostel and mess by room type; uniforms and equipment; transport; insurance; application and payment-processing charges; installment dates; scholarship conditions; late-payment rules; and refund/cancellation terms. Mark each item as included, extra, optional or not stated. If the brochure calls a total “all inclusive,” ask for the exclusions in writing. A room cost may be per year or per semester; if the schedule omits a billing period, do not assume one.
Before paying, verify that the fee notice matches the exact GNM cohort and recognized campus, obtain a receipt, and keep a copy of the refund clause. Compare the amount you must pay before admission with the cost for the full three years. A scholarship advertised by a school may have academic or management approval conditions and may be revisable; do not subtract it from a budget until eligibility and continuation terms are confirmed.
Hostel, food and refundable amounts
Hostel charges are especially easy to misread. A schedule can quote different room types, optional meal packages, laundry or a one-time enrollment/furnishing charge without saying whether its figures are monthly, annual or for a full course. Guru Nanak College, Dehradun's 2026-27 prospectus shows accommodation options separately from the GNM academic fee, lists a one-time hostel enrollment and furnishing fee and separate laundry charges, and does not make the billing period for every room amount explicit in the extracted schedule. Confirm the period and inclusions directly before adding that figure to your three-year budget. The college's GNM fee page is a campus example, not a national hostel tariff. (Guru Nanak College 2026-27 GNM fee schedule)
A refundable caution deposit is not equivalent to a discount. Ask when it is returned, what deductions are allowed and whether the school requires a separate clearance. Find out whether clinical transport, uniforms and equipment are compulsory, whether the student may purchase them independently, and whether fees can change during the course. Keep bank charges and taxes separate if the schedule excludes them.
A simple comparison worksheet
Write down the cash due at application, allotment and registration; each year’s course payment; accommodation and meals by actual billing period; travel and supplies; refundable deposit; and the published withdrawal rule. Compare private counselling, management or other seat categories only when the source states the category. For Odisha's counselling example, the brochure says a 90% refund applies if leaving after admission but before counselling/admission ends, then no refund after the process concludes. That rule cannot be carried over to a university or a different state. Ask for the term in the exact current admission letter before accepting a seat.