IBS Hyderabad describes different kinds of financial support for BBA, MBA and doctoral students, and they should not be treated as one common scholarship. The clearest individual eligibility schedule is for BBA: awards are linked to Class XII marks or later semester performance, with a minimum GPA condition. The PhD page describes a staged fellowship for full-time researchers. A separate IFHE mandatory disclosure reports aggregate MBA scholarship and full-fee-waiver counts, but does not state individual eligibility or award amounts. Applicants should use the rule for their exact programme and get the award conditions in writing before including aid in a budget.
BBA merit scholarships
The IBS Hyderabad BBA page describes two merit routes. The first uses aggregate marks in Class XII or equivalent. For a three-year BBA, the page lists total scholarship amounts of ₹1.26 lakh for 90% or above, ₹84,000 for 80% to below 90%, and ₹50,400 for 70% to below 80%. For the four-year option, it lists ₹1.68 lakh, ₹1.12 lakh and ₹67,200 for those respective mark bands. The published schedule says these awards are disbursed equally across six instalments for the three-year programme or eight for the four-year programme.
Continuing this scholarship depends on maintaining a minimum 6.0 GPA in the previous semester. The amount shown is therefore not an unconditional reduction from the first fee bill: the applicant must meet the entry mark band and retain the stated semester performance. Ask the admissions office how the rule applies if a student changes from the three-year path to the four-year honours route or takes a permitted exit.
The second BBA route is based on semester performance. The page says up to 10% of the batch may receive awards, in addition to scholarships based on past academic record. It lists ₹42,000 for CGPA 9.00 or above, ₹30,800 for CGPA from 8.50 to below 9.00, and ₹21,000 for CGPA from 8.00 to below 8.50. The page does not make clear in the captured table whether these amounts repeat each semester or describe another award period. Confirm the disbursement basis and whether a student can receive both awards before projecting a multi-year saving.
MBA scholarship disclosure is aggregate
IFHE's Mandatory Disclosure 2026–27 lists 172 MBA scholarship recipients with a total amount of ₹4,05,00,000, and 36 MBA full-fee waivers. This is an institution-level disclosure for IFHE Hyderabad; the table does not provide an individual award range, selection criteria, scholarship year, renewal rule or applicant-level probability. It does not promise that a new IBS Hyderabad MBA student will receive aid. Use it as evidence that the institution reports aggregate MBA support, then ask the admissions office for current cohort-specific criteria and award terms.
The aggregate cannot be converted into a standard per-student scholarship. The table may combine awards of different sizes, and it does not state the relationship between its scholarship count and full-fee-waiver count. Do not divide the total by 172 and use that mean as an expected grant. Applicants should budget the published MBA fee without assuming a scholarship until they receive an individual award letter.
Full-time PhD fellowship
The IBS Hyderabad doctoral page describes a fellowship for full-time PhD students. It lists ₹40,000 per month in the first year, ₹45,000 after the qualifying examination until thesis-proposal defence, and ₹50,000 after proposal defence. The fellowship is available for a maximum of 48 months or until PhD completion, whichever comes first. The page says students may be required to provide up to 10 hours per week of teaching, research or administrative support in lieu of the fellowship.
The same page describes a ₹30,000 annual professional-development grant for conferences, workshops and seminars for four years, and a one-time ₹50,000 laptop allowance. These terms belong to the full-time doctoral programme and are subject to the institution's rules; they are not a general scholarship for MBA or part-time PhD students. The page also refers to a ₹25,000 monthly fellowship and free accommodation for students in the first-year MBA–PhD pre-PhD stage. Ask whether the current doctoral offer includes that route and which conditions govern continuation.
The public material reviewed does not set out a comparable part-time PhD fellowship. This should be treated as an information gap rather than proof that part-time students are ineligible for every form of aid. Request the current part-time fee and financial-support terms directly from the doctoral office.
How to confirm an award
Ask for the scheme name, programme and intake to which it applies; the eligibility calculation; whether the award is one-time or recurring; payment timing; academic renewal conditions; and what happens after a programme exit or leave of absence. For BBA, confirm whether the listed semester-performance award is a per-semester amount. For MBA, do not assume an aggregate disclosure is a personal entitlement. For PhD, confirm the fellowship stage, expected support duties and the end point of the 48-month period in the offer letter.
Sources: IBS Hyderabad BBA programme and scholarship terms; IBS Hyderabad PhD programme and fellowship; IFHE Mandatory Disclosure 2026–27.
