IEM's displayed financial-support figures
IEM's Scholarship and Financial Support page displays institutional support under T.W.F. for 144 students totalling ₹1,15,20,000, and a row titled “SCHOLARSHIP” for 185 students totalling ₹1,37,75,000. Under support from other sources, it lists national Minority support for 60 students totalling ₹32,40,000 and Government of State support for 7 students totalling ₹3,80,000. The page gives no academic year or reporting period beside these rows. Treat them as the figures displayed on the page when checked on 5 November 2026, not as the budget, award count or guarantee for the 2027-28 admission cycle. IEM Scholarship and Financial Support.
The table does not explain whether categories overlap, whether amounts are disbursed or approved, or whether the count is per year or cumulative. Do not add the amounts into a total benefit or divide them into an individual award estimate. Ask the institute for the dated statement and the current programme-specific scheme before relying on any row.
The table's recipient counts should not be used as an acceptance probability. It does not identify applicants, eligible students, courses, award size per recipient or whether government reimbursements went through the institute or directly to students. A count of recipients is not the number of awards reserved for the next intake. Use the figures only as an observed disclosure and seek the current notice for the funding period you are entering.
How the group scholarship policy works
IEM-UEM's scholarship policy describes awards and partial tuition waivers for enrolled students. It says selection can consider academic merit, financial hardship, extracurricular achievement and special skills; students who have lost an earning parent are also considered with supporting documents. Scholarship availability and amounts depend on committee decisions, endowment funds and annual budget allocation. The policy says the number of awards can change by academic year and that no award need be recommended if the committee finds no suitable candidate. It is not an automatic fee reduction for every applicant who meets one mark threshold. IEM-UEM Scholarship Policy.
The document calls for an application and supporting materials, gives the committee authority to assess eligibility, and says award letters should state type, amount, duration and renewal terms. Students must apply by the announced deadline with complete documents; incomplete applications may be rejected. A student cannot hold more than one scholarship at the same time under the group policy. Before paying fees, ask whether a provisional award is confirmed in writing and how an approved tuition adjustment is credited. The policy says no cash refund is due for a tuition adjustment.
The policy also calls for semester-wise review and says satisfactory academic progress, no backlog and conduct expectations can affect renewal. An award can be partial, full or tied to a particular period or category. That means the first notification is not enough to plan the full degree cost: check the renewal decision dates and what happens if marks, attendance or course status changes. The signed award terms should control your personal estimate.
Separate research support for full-time M.Tech and Ph.D. students
A student-focused incentive scheme dated 11 March 2024 describes a distinct tuition-fellowship and research/teaching-assistantship arrangement for full-time M.Tech and Ph.D. students of IEM and UEM. It states full tuition waiver support and monthly assistantship amounts of ₹20,000 for full-time M.Tech students and ₹30,000 for full-time Ph.D. students, subject to the stated conditions: in-person study, 90% attendance and an aggregate of at least 8.0 or 80%. The policy says part-time students, students holding jobs, or students who do not maintain the attendance and marks conditions are not eligible to continue. It also requires at least two Scopus- or SCI-indexed papers after one year of coursework for continuation. Scholarship and Incentive Schemes for Students, version dated 11 March 2024.
This is a research and teaching support provision, not a general B.Tech tuition scholarship or a promise that every M.Tech or Ph.D. student receives funding. The scheme's wording is group-wide and does not state a current number of funded places or a 2027-28 application window. Ask the relevant department to confirm whether the arrangement applies to the exact IEM course, what the current intake and selection process are, and whether the award is still offered under the same conditions.
The document gives these conditions in a group policy and does not specify the number of seats, research project openings or selection ranking for an applicant. It also does not establish that a stipend will be paid to every full-time M.Tech or Ph.D. enrollee. Because the publication condition applies after one year of coursework, ask how the institute measures the two qualifying papers and by what date continuation is assessed.
What to verify before counting on support
The public financial-support table is not an application notice and does not show a deadline, selection threshold, continuation rule or current application form. The group policy says the application form can define the criteria for a given academic year; the committee may consider cumulative performance, extracurricular work and financial circumstances, and can request additional materials. Renewal is reviewed semester by semester, with satisfactory academic progress and no backlog among the stated conditions. Obtain the current form, deadline and complete document list from IEM's office before assuming an award is available. IEM-UEM Scholarship Policy.
The same policy PDF contains a separate Management Scholarship section with its own coverage and application schedule. That management-specific section should not be applied to an engineering programme. Likewise, the 2024 student incentive PDF mixes IEM and UEM references and some research-support conditions; confirm the exact campus and course in writing. The public sources do not identify which of the displayed T.W.F., Minority, state-government or general scholarship rows a new IEM Kolkata student can claim.
For a useful written answer, ask the office to confirm the scheme name, covered charges, award amount or percentage, number of awards, eligibility for the exact course and admission year, selection criteria, application deadline, renewal requirements, and whether the award can be combined with another funding source. Request a revised fee demand showing any approved tuition adjustment separately. Until then, budget from the published course fee rather than subtracting a possible scholarship.
If you receive an award, retain the application copy, approval letter, tuition ledger and any renewal decision. Match the amount to the specific semester or year shown on your fee statement, and ask whether the waiver reduces a billed charge or is paid as support. If a separate scholarship is already funding you, disclose it before accepting another award because the group policy prohibits holding more than one simultaneously.







