IMI Kolkata scholarships: what applicants can verify
For the 2027 intake, the clearest applicant-facing support is IMI Kolkata’s Economically Weaker Section (EWS) tuition-waiver route, but the live PGDM page does not present a complete 2027-29 application schedule. Its EWS instructions still name the 2026-28 PGDM batch. Do not assume that the same documents, deadline or award amount automatically apply to the next intake. The institute’s separate Fellow Programme in Management (FPM) page publishes a more detailed 2026-27 support package; those waivers and stipends are for FPM scholars, not PGDM students.
The practical next step is to ask the Kolkata admissions office for the current batch’s EWS notice before estimating a net fee. IMI’s historic scholarship categories are useful background, but they are not proof of an open award today.
PGDM: EWS tuition waiver and application steps
The current PGDM admissions page says students with total family income below ₹8 lakh per year are eligible for an EWS scholarship and that applications for the tuition-fee waiver are invited after admission. The page then narrows its instructions to students joining the 2026-28 batch: apply to the admissions office before the date the institute communicates, and submit income-tax returns, a PAN number and a certificate issued by a competent government-appointed authority. Late requests will not be processed. Applications are collected and processed together, and EWS scholarships are offered up to 5% of the institute’s total intake.
Those details help applicants prepare, but they are not a confirmed 2027-29 checklist. Although the same live page now contains a proposed 2027-29 PGDM fee schedule, its waiver paragraph still names 2026-28. It gives no 2027-29 application deadline and does not state the waiver’s percentage or rupee amount for the next batch. The page’s separate 2023-24 Self Study Report describes a 100% EWS tuition-fee waiver, but that is historical evidence; it should not be used to calculate a current applicant’s payable amount without a current batch notice.
For a next-intake estimate, use the currently published 2027-29 fee schedule only as the proposed fee, then treat EWS support as unconfirmed until admissions staff confirm the applicable rules in writing. Ask whether the income ceiling and 5% intake cap remain the same, what counts as total family income, which authority’s certificate is accepted, when the form opens, and what share of tuition is waived. The page says the institute communicates a due date after admission; no fixed EWS date is captured here.
FPM: separate fee waiver, stipend and research grant
IMI Kolkata’s FPM programme page labels its fee structure 2026-27. It states that FPM candidates receive a 100% fee waiver, with only the registration fee and refundable security deposit payable, and adds that regular FPM scholars receive a 100% tuition-fee waiver. In a separate section, the page specifies that full-time FPM scholars receive ₹37,000 per month in years one and two and ₹42,000 per month in years three and four, for four years from joining. Continued stipend support is subject to satisfactory academic progress assessed periodically.
The FPM page also states a ₹1,00,000 contingency/conference grant during the scholar’s tenure. The listed uses include conference attendance, data collection, stationery and printing, books and other research-related expenses. Conference participation requires Research Committee review and recommendation. Limited subsidised hostel accommodation may be available to outstation scholars; this is not a guaranteed cash award. These conditions matter: the stipend is for full-time scholars, while the page’s fee-waiver wording separately refers to FPM candidates and regular scholars. A prospective researcher should confirm the exact status and conditions in the offer or current FPM notice.
The same page describes the admission process: submit the online form with scanned documents and a research-proposal abstract of up to 5,000 words; shortlisted candidates make a presentation and attend a personal interview. A 2026 FPM/EFPM application form is linked, but the page does not state a deadline in the captured material. Check the linked form and ask the programme office for the current intake date before planning around the support package. Do not treat FPM stipends as a PGDM scholarship or subtract them from PGDM fees.
Older scholarship categories: historical, not a current offer list
IMI Kolkata’s 2024 Self Study Report says the institute had offered awards under categories including merit, girl child, dependants of COVID warriors, children of armed-forces personnel, applicants from northeastern states and applicants from Tier 2 and Tier 3 cities. The report also describes an EWS tuition waiver. It does not provide the current intake’s eligibility rules, amounts, application dates or proof requirements for those categories. It therefore cannot establish that any of those awards is open to a student applying for the 2027 PGDM batch.
Use this older list to form questions, not to assume an entitlement. Ask whether any merit, gender, service-family or regional award is available for your exact programme and batch, whether it can be combined with EWS support, and whether a separate application is needed. Until IMI publishes or confirms the current terms, this page does not assign a benefit amount to those categories.
What to verify before budgeting
First identify your programme: PGDM and FPM have different support rules. For PGDM, the captured EWS income condition is below ₹8 lakh per annum, but its detailed submission instructions are explicitly for 2026-28. For FPM, the page’s fee-waiver, full-time stipend and research grant are separately described under a 2026-27 fee heading. Neither source gives a confirmed 2027-29 PGDM waiver amount or a 2027-28 FPM application deadline.
Before accepting an offer or calculating a loan requirement, request the current written notice and confirm the eligible cohort, income definition, accepted certificate issuer, deadline, number of awards, waiver basis, payment timing and whether aid can be combined. Retain the response and supporting documents. Do not treat the 5% intake ceiling as a guaranteed award, or the historical 100% EWS statement as a promise for a new batch. The institute’s posted instructions make timing important: the EWS submission date is communicated after admission, and late requests are not processed.
For FPM, verify whether your admission status is regular or full-time, the continued-progress conditions, what fee components remain payable and how grant approvals work. The published ₹37,000/₹42,000 stipend schedule and ₹1 lakh grant are useful for the 2026-27 page scope, not a guaranteed later-year offer. Ask the institute to confirm any updates before relying on those amounts in a 2027-28 budget.

