What KSOM’s MBA scholarship covers
KSOM’s fee page lists three merit-based routes to a scholarship for the full-time MBA: placement among the top five students in KIITEE Management 2027; at least the 80th percentile in a centre-based or offline CAT or XAT; or at least the 95th percentile in centre-based or offline MAT for the December 2026 or February 2027 sitting. The page says the award is a 50% waiver of tuition fees. It does not describe a half-fee reduction on the full MBA cost. Check the official KSOM fee and scholarship page before applying, because each test and mode condition is specific.
The MBA FAQ repeats that the scholarship is a 50% tuition-fee waiver and restates the test categories. The two pages therefore support the scope of the offer, but neither provides a complete award procedure or a personal net-fee calculation. Treat the categories as eligibility routes to ask KSOM about, not as a cash amount already credited to every qualifying student.
Read the test conditions literally
The scholarship criteria are not interchangeable. The KIITEE Management route is described as a top-five result in the 2027 test. The CAT and XAT route uses an 80th-percentile threshold and explicitly limits the eligible score to a centre-based or offline examination. The MAT route uses a 95th-percentile threshold, names two test sittings, and carries the same centre-based/offline condition. A result from another MAT month, a different score edition or an online mode is not confirmed by this page.
Keep the scorecard and the exam details together when asking the school to verify eligibility. Confirm that KSOM will accept the exact test edition, result date, exam mode and score format shown on your document. The website does not explain whether “top five” means an overall rank, a category-specific rank, or a particular merit list, so a candidate relying on the KIITEE route should request the published ranking or award confirmation.
A published percentile threshold is not the same as confirmation that the award has been granted. The page does not state whether the scholarship is automatic, whether an application is required, how seats are allocated if more candidates qualify than awards are available, or when the result is communicated. Obtain a written award notice before reducing the amount in your budget.
Why 50% does not mean half the package
KSOM calls the benefit a waiver of 50% of tuition fees. Its separate fee schedule for the 2026-28 MBA shows tuition alongside other charges, including admission and administration, development, activities, hostel, mess, laundry, books, materials and laptop. The schedule is for that named batch and should not be treated as the 2027-29 offer, but it illustrates why a tuition-only waiver is not a 50% reduction of every cost.
Do not multiply a headline total package by one-half and describe the result as the scholarship value. The scholarship page does not publish a fixed rupee amount for each recipient or say that non-tuition components are waived. Ask KSOM to provide the current batch’s fee sheet with tuition separated from residential and other charges, then request a written calculation of the tuition amount covered by your award.
The FAQ’s MBA total is a separate total-cost statement. The detailed component schedule on the school’s fee page is explicitly for 2026-28, so do not use those installment amounts to calculate a later intake’s scholarship without a current offer. Use the current fee schedule to check the tuition line that applies to your batch.
Award details the public page does not settle
The published scholarship page gives qualifying test categories and the tuition-waiver rate, but it does not state whether two categories can be combined, whether a student can use the best of several scores, or whether awards renew in the second year. It also does not explain the award’s payment timing, how a student’s academic standing affects continuation, whether a withdrawal changes the waiver, or how the school resolves ties for the KIITEE top-five condition. These terms should not be inferred from the word “scholarship.”
Before accepting an offer, ask whether you need to submit a separate scholarship application, what scorecard or rank proof is required, when eligibility is confirmed, and how the 50% reduction is applied to each tuition installment. Ask whether the waiver continues in year two and whether any minimum academic performance is required. Request the response in writing and retain it with the offer and fee schedule.
If you qualify under more than one test, ask whether KSOM lets you nominate one score or considers all eligible scores. The official pages do not promise stacking or provide a tie-break rule. Until the school confirms the individual award and amount, keep the full published fee in your cost plan.
Budget with a confirmed award, not an estimate
Build your initial cost plan from the current offer’s full fee and payment dates. Keep any tuition waiver in a separate line and wait for a written scholarship confirmation before reducing the amount due. This avoids treating a test percentile as a guaranteed award or assuming that residence, mess, deposits or administrative charges are discounted.
When you contact admissions, include your programme and intake, the exact exam and edition, test mode, percentile or rank, and the offer letter fee page. Ask for four points in one response: whether the score satisfies the current published condition; whether an application or further selection is required; the rupee tuition amount waived and how it is split across installments; and the renewal conditions for the next year. If the answer changes the payment plan, ask for an updated written balance.
The current public terms are concise: three test-based categories and a 50% tuition-fee waiver. The process, renewal, stacking and rupee amount for an individual student are not specified in the pages reviewed here. Recheck KSOM’s official scholarship page and FAQ before making a payment, because thresholds and eligible test sessions can change with the admission cycle.

