What KGMU’s NIRF report records
The most specific aid evidence in the captured official material is KGMU’s institutional submission for India Rankings 2025. It reports counts of students receiving full tuition reimbursement across all years of offered UG programmes, then gives a separate row for PG three-year programmes. These are historical student counts, not a current scholarship notice or a list of schemes.
The source labels the first group as all years of offered UG programmes. It does not break those 694, 73 and 8 students into MBBS, BDS, a particular intake, category or year of study. The PG row is specifically for three-year programmes; it is not a count for every postgraduate or super-specialty course at KGMU. Keep those scopes attached to the numbers when comparing costs.
Reimbursement counts are not scheme terms
The NIRF table reports whether students received full tuition reimbursement under broad funding-source categories. It does not name a scholarship, state who awarded it, give the covered amount, or explain whether a count includes a central, Uttar Pradesh, university or other programme. A zero in a funding-source column is the value reported in that historical PG row; it does not prove that no eligible student can receive aid under any other route. Likewise, the zero count for UG students not receiving full reimbursement belongs to the submitted aggregate row. It is not a promise that every new undergraduate will receive a full waiver.
The table does not state eligibility criteria, income or merit thresholds, reservation or domicile conditions, renewal rules, document lists, application deadlines, payment timing, combinations with other aid, or the number of applicants who were rejected. It also does not distinguish tuition-only support from other charges beyond the label “full tuition reimbursement”. Do not convert a beneficiary count into a per-student award or subtract it from KGMU’s fee schedule.
A reimbursement figure and a scholarship offer answer different questions. The former describes a reported outcome for a broad group; the latter needs a named scheme, applicable student group, benefit, decision authority and process. The captured NIRF submission supplies the first kind of evidence only.
How to check whether you qualify
For an incoming student, begin with the notice for the exact programme, admission route and academic session. Then check the current scheme notice from the authority named by the university or counselling process. Confirm that the scheme applies to the programme and campus, and ask whether its benefit covers tuition alone or also admission charges, deposits, hostel and food. If the notice does not answer those points, get a written clarification from the office responsible for the scheme before building it into your budget.
Keep the documents and dates in the notice together: category or domicile proof where applicable, income evidence, admission or allotment record, bank details, renewal conditions and the last date to apply. These are items to verify, not a KGMU-specific checklist established by the historical NIRF row. Do not assume that a portal link, historical beneficiary count or another student’s award makes an applicant eligible.
The saved KGMU fee page lists separate programme groups and payment stages but does not state an intake year. Treat those figures as schedule references until a current notice confirms the session and charges. The KGMU Admission Fee Details page does not name an academic intake. If aid is approved, compare its written coverage with the fee components and payment dates; a tuition reimbursement does not necessarily cover hostel, food, deposits or one-time charges.
Use the figures as context, not a discount
KGMU’s report indicates that its institution submitted substantial UG counts in the State/Central reimbursement column and smaller counts in the institution and private-body columns, while the PG three-year row reports 608 students not receiving full tuition reimbursement. That contrast is useful context for asking separate questions about undergraduate and postgraduate aid. It does not show why the groups differ or whether the difference arose from eligibility, application behaviour, reporting or scheme availability.
Do not turn the difference into a prediction about an individual student. The report does not provide an applicant-level probability, total aid budget, award value, renewal rate or next-year forecast. It also does not identify which specific programmes were included in the broad UG count. Applicants should plan for the published payable amount until they have a current written sanction that names their course, session and covered fee components.
Before paying, confirm four items from the current source: the authority and scheme name; your exact eligibility and required documents; the application and renewal deadlines; and whether reimbursement is paid to you or adjusted against fees. Keep the sanction and payment receipt. If the current notice differs from historical institutional reporting, follow the notice for your intake and retain the NIRF counts only as dated background.

