First separate entry awards from scholarships after enrolment
IIIT-B’s funding options fall into different stages. The Utkarsha Scholarship 2026 is an entry award described for the top-ranked student admitted to B.Tech or Integrated M.Tech through JEE Main or JEE Advanced with an NTA CRL from 1 to 999. The published benefit is full tuition waiver: three years for B.Tech and four years for Integrated M.Tech. The page does not state a 2027-28 award amount or a complete application procedure, so a JEE rank in range should be treated as an eligibility signal, not a confirmed award.
The Dean’s Merit List Scholarship is an in-course award. The institute says students are considered automatically through the Dean’s Merit List, subject to scholarship committee approval. For B.Tech and Integrated M.Tech, a CGPA of at least 3.6 is required to be listed, and the top 10% receive the scholarship. That is a later academic-performance route, not an admission-time waiver. The current page does not state the 2027 award amount or renewal details.
Do not subtract a scholarship from your fee estimate until the institute confirms your award and its coverage. Utkarsha is expressly described as a tuition waiver; it does not establish hostel, food, deposits or other charges as waived. The Dean’s page states the selection basis but does not specify the current award value.
Prerna and sponsor-funded awards have separate limits
For 2026-27, the institute lists the Prerna Scholarship Scheme for Girl Students for eligible girls admitted to its B.Tech and Integrated M.Tech CSE, ECE and AI&DS programmes. The published count is 18 awards for CSE across B.Tech and Integrated M.Tech from a combined batch size of 180, nine for ECE from 90, and nine for B.Tech AI&DS from 90, for 36 in total. The site says selection is based on the JEE Main or JEE Advanced NTA CRL within each programme. It does not publish the rupee value on the page, so the award count should not be mistaken for a specified fee waiver.
The institutional pages also mention scholarships sponsored by companies such as Reliance Foundation, Tata Foundation, Micron, Intel, HGS and CGI. The admissions pages describe these as opportunities students may apply for if a company announces one; the sponsor, rather than the college page, determines a specific scheme’s eligibility and selection. Treat the named companies as examples of past or possible sponsors, not as a current guaranteed award list.
The pages include older records that can mislead a budget. IIIT-B’s separate merit-scholarship page describes ₹50,000 awards for 18 students selected from the Dean’s Merit List in 2019-20. That is a historical award record, not confirmation of the current amount. Use the current Dean’s Merit List terms for selection and ask the institute for the applicable value before relying on the older figure.
Need-based support through the Student Benevolent Fund
The Student Benevolent Fund (SBF) is the institute’s need-based support route for an enrolled student facing genuine financial hardship. The admissions page says applicants whose parent or guardian earns less than ₹11 lakh per year and who cannot source a student loan from banks are eligible to apply. It asks for the latest parent or guardian income certificate with the application. The fund may support education, boarding, health or other exigencies that other scholarships do not meet; the page does not promise a fixed amount or a full fee waiver.
IIIT-B’s Alumni page describes SBF assistance as varying with the student’s need, from partial tuition support to tuition and living expenses. That makes it a potential contingency for students whose costs exceed other aid, but not a guaranteed offset to the published fee schedule. The accessible scholarship text does not state an application deadline, form destination, document checklist beyond the latest income certificate, or a decision timeline. Contact the Registrar or Student Affairs office for the current application channel and ask what supporting financial documents are required. Do this before assuming an award will arrive by a fee-payment deadline.
The page describes applying after enrolment. Applicants planning a 2027 start should therefore budget for the full published charges unless the institute confirms support in writing; do not treat the income condition alone as approval.
M.Tech support and questions to confirm for 2027
For M.Tech applicants, the official institute pages need a careful cross-check. The Institute Industry Interaction Cell says all M.Tech students receive an AICTE scholarship for both programme years. The programme admission pages’ scholarship text, however, states an AICTE benefit only for Integrated M.Tech students who have a valid GATE scorecard by the start of their final year, under AICTE norms. Because those statements describe different programme scopes, the dedicated admissions page does not establish that a new two-year M.Tech student will receive the same award. Confirm the current AICTE scheme, amount, eligible GATE paper, payment schedule and whether the benefit applies to your specific M.Tech programme directly with admissions before including it in your budget.
For 2027-28, the pages checked still show 2026 and 2026-27-specific Utkarsha and Prerna information. I found no confirmed 2027 scholarship amount, award count, deadline or renewal rule. Before accepting an offer, ask the admissions office to confirm in writing: the award year and eligible programme; whether the waiver covers tuition only or other charges; whether selection is automatic or requires an application; the documents and deadline; continuation conditions; and whether two awards can be combined. Current official pages do not establish combination rules, and an old web record should not substitute for the offer letter or current scholarship notice.







