Loading Admission Guardian content
Loading Admission Guardian content

5 programmes · 1 institution. Check the admission year and requirements.

5 programmes · 1 institution. Check the admission year and requirements.
Read the published admission guide below. Keep each programme, admission year and counselling-merit scale separate when interpreting historical figures.
Compare cutoffs for the same course, quota, category, domicile and round.
AIFD’s admissions webpage displays the 2027-28 cycle and describes an online application, document upload, an interview for shortlisted applicants, and a merit list under the institute’s prescribed criteria. The page does not give a minimum interview score, a rank-wise closing mark, a category-wise closing score or a past-year cutoff table. AIFD’s 2026-27 prospectus gives a minimum eligibility threshold and a selection description, but those are not interchangeable with a closing cutoff. Treat a specific 2027-28 cutoff as unverified unless AIFD publishes a dated official notice with the exact programme, applicant category and selection stage.
“Cutoff” can mean at least two different things. An eligibility minimum tells an applicant whether they may apply; a competitive closing score tells them where a particular round or category stopped after offers were made. The checked sources support the first kind of threshold for the previous prospectus year, not a numerical closing score for 2027-28. A merit list is mentioned on the current page, but the page does not state its scoring formula or publish the result list alongside a score key. Do not infer a score cutoff from the existence of a merit list.
For its 2026-27 admission cycle, AIFD’s prospectus said applicants could be 10+2 pass or appearing in any stream, or hold a three-year diploma equivalent to 10+2, with a minimum 50% aggregate from a recognised board or institute. It described admission criteria as based on Class X and XII marks and showed an online interview covering general knowledge and a personal interview. The same process graphic says applicants appear for the online interview and that Defence wards and civilians are considered subject to the seat matrix.
These facts describe a prior prospectus, not confirmed 2027-28 rules. The 50% condition is an eligibility threshold in the document; it is not evidence that every eligible applicant receives an offer or that 50% is a closing merit score. The prospectus does not state the weighting between Class X, Class XII and interview performance in the text reviewed here, nor does it provide programme-wise or category-wise closing marks. Applicants should use the current portal and dated notices for the live cycle and ask AIFD to confirm whether these previous-cycle conditions still apply.
AIFD’s current admissions page identifies Defence and Civilian categories, and its 2026-27 prospectus says both are subject to the seat matrix. That distinction matters: a single undifferentiated mark would not establish a category-specific closing score. The sources checked do not publish the 2027-28 seat matrix, category-wise applicant counts, merit-list tie-break rules or separate closing marks. Do not assume the categories have identical offer thresholds, and do not guess a category boundary from the 50% eligibility minimum.
When AIFD publishes a merit list, check the notice date, programme, category, round and whether the list is provisional or final. A list of names without marks may confirm selection status but cannot establish a numerical cutoff. If the institute later publishes a score or rank table, retain its own definition of the scored population and stage. An interview shortlist threshold, an offer threshold and a final admission threshold answer different questions; a figure from one stage should not be presented as another.
Before applying, confirm the exact programme and the current academic cycle shown in AIFD’s official admission portal. Ask the admissions office for the current eligibility notice, seat matrix by applicant category, components and weights used in merit preparation, interview shortlisting basis, tie-break rule, and the date and format of each merit list. Ask specifically whether any published previous-year mark is an eligibility condition, shortlist threshold or final closing score. This prevents an old prospectus minimum from being mistaken for a prediction of admission.
Keep the official notice or portal page with its publication date. Check whether it applies to your programme and category, and whether it has been superseded by a later correction. A portal banner alone can identify the advertised cycle but does not supply a score formula. The current admissions page directs candidates to apply online and describes the merit list in general terms; its public text does not provide an exact cutoff to calculate against. For current instructions, use the institute’s admissions page and confirm ambiguities directly with the institute rather than relying on coaching-site estimates or unrelated design entrance examinations. A candidate who meets the previous prospectus’s 50% minimum can therefore say only that the document described that eligibility condition for its own cycle; it does not establish their likely place on a later merit list. Likewise, a strong school score cannot be translated into an admission probability when the current page does not publish component weights or the score distribution. The reviewed source does not explain how aggregate marks are rounded or converted across boards, so applicants should not apply a self-made conversion. If a counselling site quotes a cutoff, ask it to link the original AIFD notice and identify its year, programme, category and stage before using the figure. The public page also does not establish that a separate national design entrance exam substitutes for AIFD’s stated process; follow only the route named in a current AIFD notice.