IMI Delhi admission for the 2027-29 batch
IMI Delhi’s official PGDM admission page labels the current intake 2027-29 and lists CAT 2026 and XAT 2027 as the entrance tests. Its admission portal shows applications opened in September 2026, a last date of 19 December 2026, interviews in January 2027, admission decisions in February 2027 and the programme beginning in July 2027. The main admissions page calls the January-February assessment period tentative. Treat these dates as the institute’s current schedule, not a guarantee that they will remain unchanged. Check the live IMI admission page and admission portal before paying or planning travel.
The portal’s current final-application date is 19 December 2026. That is a useful deadline for the 2027-29 cycle, but the process has several earlier tasks: decide which programme and applicant category apply to you, arrange the required test score, assemble academic records, and leave time to complete the online form and pay its processing charge. An applicant who waits until the final date to resolve a test or document issue has little room to correct an incomplete submission.
This guide concerns IMI Delhi’s two-year PGDM admissions. The institute has separate pages and formats for its 18-month executive programme, doctoral study and online offerings. Do not transfer the two-year admission rules, dates or score requirements to those routes. The institute’s admissions page is the controlling source for current Delhi applications; a prior-year article, coaching-site estimate or another IMI campus page cannot establish the 2027-29 rule.
Which programmes use the two-year route
IMI’s Delhi admissions page groups the PGDM, PGDM (Human Resource Management) and PGDM (Banking & Financial Services) in its eligibility and selection information. It describes these as two-year programmes. The PGDM page identifies six trimesters, each lasting 11-12 weeks, and a compulsory Summer Internship Programme after the first year. This is a clearer comparison point than the programme names alone: these are full two-year management diplomas with a term-based calendar and an internship between academic years, while the separate 18-month PGDM follows another format.
The programme labels indicate different intended study routes. The general PGDM is the broad management option; HRM is the route to compare for human-resources study; B&FS is the institute’s banking and financial-services programme. The official pages do not provide enough comparable current curriculum detail here to say that one route is more selective or produces better outcomes. Compare the current curriculum, electives, fee schedule and placement reporting for the exact programme you would select. Do not assume that an admission or fee figure shown for the general PGDM automatically applies to HRM, B&FS or the executive programme.
The admissions page says applicants may apply to the PGDM and/or the HRM and/or B&FS programmes. The institute also has multiple campuses, but this page’s 2027-29 schedule is for IMI Delhi. If you are considering another campus as well, confirm how programme selection and application charges work in the live form rather than assuming that one Delhi selection automatically includes another campus or programme.
Eligibility: check the degree before the score
For the PGDM, PGDM (HRM) and PGDM (B&FS), IMI states a minimum of 50% aggregate marks, or an equivalent grade, in a bachelor’s degree or equivalent qualification in any discipline. The degree must come from a university recognised in India or abroad by the UGC or Association of Indian Universities. The qualification must represent at least three years of education after higher secondary schooling under the 10+2 system or its equivalent. The requirement is not limited to commerce or engineering graduates, but a candidate should verify that the awarding institution and duration satisfy the stated test.
Meeting the 50% threshold is a minimum eligibility condition, not a promise of a shortlist. IMI says final selection may use a higher cutoff depending on the number of applicants; its admission portal FAQ says there is no fixed cutoff and describes a broader evaluation. Read these statements together: the institute publishes a baseline for eligibility, but does not promise a universal entrance-score threshold that secures an interview or offer. Do not treat a coaching estimate or a prior-year score as an official 2027-29 cutoff.
Final-year bachelor’s students may apply. IMI’s current page requires them to furnish proof that they meet the minimum eligibility criteria by 30 September 2027. It warns that failure to do so can lead to rejection. If you are in the final year, check what the institute accepts as proof and when it must be submitted; do not infer that an expected result or provisional mark alone will satisfy the requirement. The page recommends completing academic requirements before enrolment so students can keep pace with the programme’s academic and assessment demands.
The institute says applicants may be fresh graduates or may have relevant work experience, and accepts applicants from any discipline. It does not state work experience as a minimum eligibility requirement for these programmes. Work experience can still matter in evaluation: the selection page names the quality of work experience among its qualitative considerations. A candidate without experience should not read that criterion as an automatic disqualification; an experienced applicant should not assume that years served replace the academic and test requirements.
Tests accepted and what the score does
For the 2027-29 PGDM cycle, IMI Delhi’s main admissions page names CAT 2026, conducted by IIM Ahmedabad, and XAT 2027, conducted by XLRI with XAMI, as entrance routes. It states that candidates applying for the PGDM, HRM or B&FS are shortlisted using CAT/XAT or GMAT scores together with academic records. Its detailed GMAT subsection, however, specifically describes GMAT eligibility for foreign nationals and gives a validity window from January 2022 through January 2027. The separate admission portal FAQ lists CAT 2026, XAT 2027 and GMAT without repeating that nationality qualifier. Because the official pages phrase GMAT scope differently, Indian applicants relying on GMAT alone should confirm eligibility with the admission office before applying.
A test score is one part of shortlisting, not the whole decision. The institute says academic record is also considered; its selection information adds past academic performance, work experience and extracurricular activity, and the portal describes a video assessment followed by a personal interview for shortlisted candidates. The published pages do not state a score-to-offer formula or a fixed percentile that guarantees selection. Applicants should prepare for the full assessment and report their score accurately rather than plan around an unofficial cutoff number.
Applicants using CAT or XAT should match the test edition to the batch named by IMI. For this intake, the institutional page specifies CAT 2026 and XAT 2027; an older score from an earlier application cycle is not automatically valid because the test name is the same. Candidates using GMAT should check the stated validity window and applicant-category condition directly. If the online portal or institute issues a later correction, follow that current notice and retain the official confirmation for your records.
Shortlisting, video assessment and interview
IMI describes shortlisting as a review of entrance-test scores and academic record. Only shortlisted candidates proceed to the final Individual Assessment stage. The main admissions page refers to a personal interview and other individual assessment components, while the current admission portal gives more detail: applicants are evaluated using valid CAT/XAT/GMAT scores, academic performance, work experience, and a video assessment before the final personal interview. The institute says the video assessment examines thought process and communication; the personal interview considers suitability and may cover general and business awareness, career goals, attitude, communication, people skills and personal, extracurricular or professional initiatives.
This is a multi-part assessment. A strong entrance score does not make the rest of the application irrelevant, and the stated 50% academic minimum does not describe the profile of candidates who will be shortlisted. Applicants can use the published criteria to prepare: keep academic information consistent with transcripts, understand the choices in the application, be ready to explain goals and experience, and practise presenting an argument clearly for a video or live conversation. These are preparation steps based on the institute’s listed assessment areas, not a claim about a hidden scoring rubric.
The institute’s current schedule shows interviews in January 2027 and decisions in February 2027; its main page describes the assessment period as January-February 2027, tentative. Applicants should monitor the portal and email for an individual call, instructions and changes. The institute says offers are based on a composite score across the selection stages, and that results are announced through the admission portal and notified on the IMI New Delhi website. The available public material does not disclose score weights or a formula. Do not calculate a predicted final score from a test percentile alone.
IMI also reserves the right to modify selection components and communicate them to applicants at the Individual Assessment stage. That makes the live application account and official notices more reliable than a static summary for logistical instructions. Keep your postal address and active email current: IMI asks applicants to provide contact details that remain valid through 31 July 2027 for communications.
Application steps and avoidable errors
Applications are submitted online through the IMI Delhi admissions portal. IMI says the form must be complete and submitted with the non-refundable application processing fee and required documents; incomplete forms may be rejected. The current institute page lists a processing charge of ₹2,500 for an applicant applying to a two-year programme at IMI Delhi, or applying across IMI Delhi and the Kolkata and/or Bhubaneswar campuses. Check the live form for the charge and permitted combinations before payment, because the page and portal may be updated during the cycle.
Before starting, identify the programme or programmes you intend to select and the applicant category that describes you. Check that your entrance test edition is accepted for the 2027-29 batch. Gather the degree, marks and identity information requested by the form, and if you are in the final year, plan how you will provide proof by the stated 30 September 2027 date. Company-sponsored applicants need an employer letter and undertaking for the personal-interview stage; foreign-national applicants need a valid foreign passport and should review the separate test and placement-assistance conditions. These requirements are easy to miss if you treat the application as only a test-score submission.
The application fee is described as non-refundable on the official page, so confirm the programme and campus selections before paying. The page says payment can be made through the designated credit-card, debit-card or bank-transfer gateway and instructs applicants not to send receipts directly to the admissions office. Use the portal’s own confirmation as the record of a successful submission. If a payment or document upload appears incomplete, contact the admissions office through its official address rather than submitting duplicate forms without guidance.
The public admissions page does not set out every document format or the exact file-upload sequence. Follow the live portal checklist for those details; this guide does not infer a document list beyond the eligibility and category requirements the institute publishes. Likewise, an application-fee figure is not the programme tuition fee. Compare the separate fee schedule for the correct programme and batch when budgeting, and do not use the application processing charge as an estimate of total study cost.
Sponsored and foreign-national applications
IMI Delhi accepts self-sponsored and company-sponsored applicants. For a company-sponsored application, the institute requires a letter from the sponsoring organisation and an undertaking that the organisation will pay fees and other dues during the full programme. The page says this letter and undertaking are required at the personal-interview stage. A candidate who expects employer sponsorship should arrange the documents with the employer early; an informal promise to fund the course is not the same as the specified undertaking.
The institute states that company-sponsored students are not eligible for placement assistance from its placement cell. That distinction affects the value of the programme for someone applying while remaining connected to an employer: the sponsorship route and the self-sponsored placement-assistance route have different stated conditions. Applicants should clarify sponsorship status and career plans before submitting, rather than assuming the employer letter is only a payment document with no other consequence.
IMI also accepts foreign nationals. The admissions page requires a valid foreign passport and says foreign-national students are not eligible for placement assistance from the institute’s placement cell. The page’s detailed GMAT clause applies to foreign nationals and specifies a January 2022-January 2027 test window for the 2027-29 cycle; the separate portal FAQ lists GMAT without the same category wording. A foreign applicant should confirm the current score-submission process and any document requirements with the admissions office. The public page does not provide a complete visa or immigration checklist, so applicants should not treat admission eligibility as a substitute for checking those separate requirements.
The portal FAQ says the admission process remains the same irrespective of category, but the main page’s distinct company-sponsored and foreign-national requirements still apply to those categories. Applicants should follow the specific instructions for their status rather than infer that one general statement removes category-specific documents or placement conditions.
After an offer
IMI says an admission offer is based on a composite score across its selection stages. It announces results through the admission portal and notifies candidates on the IMI New Delhi website. The institute advises applicants to check for updates regularly and to keep an active email address and postal address available through 31 July 2027. Watch for the official offer, acceptance deadline, fee schedule and enrolment requirements rather than relying on a message from an unofficial counselling source.
The admissions page also describes a withdrawal and refund policy. For withdrawal before the programme starts, it says the collected amount is returned after a ₹1,000 processing deduction when a wait-listed candidate fills the vacant seat. If a student leaves after the course begins and the seat is not filled, the page says only the refundable fee component is returned. This is a summary of the page’s wording, not a substitute for the current policy or the terms attached to an offer. Read the applicable refund terms before accepting and paying, and ask the institute how they apply to your situation if the wording is unclear.
A sensible decision sequence is to confirm eligibility first, choose the appropriate test and programme, submit a complete online form before the published deadline, prepare for the assessment stages, and then compare the written offer and programme-specific costs. IMI publishes enough information to plan those steps, but it does not publish a guaranteed cutoff or a complete selection formula. Keep the distinction between published requirements and personal estimates clear throughout the process.
Frequently asked questions
What is the minimum graduation percentage for IMI Delhi PGDM admission?
The current admissions page states 50% aggregate marks or equivalent in a bachelor’s degree from a recognised university. Final selection may use a higher threshold depending on the applicant pool. The 50% figure is the published minimum eligibility level, not a guaranteed interview or offer cutoff.
Can final-year students apply?
Yes. IMI says final-year bachelor’s students may apply if they furnish proof of meeting the minimum eligibility criteria by 30 September 2027 for the 2027-29 intake. The institute warns that candidates who do not meet this deadline may be rejected. Check the portal for the form of proof it will accept.
Is work experience compulsory?
The institute says participants may be fresh graduates or applicants with relevant work experience. It does not list work experience as a minimum eligibility requirement, though the selection page includes the quality of work experience among factors considered where relevant.
Does IMI Delhi publish a fixed CAT or XAT cutoff?
The admission portal says there is no fixed cutoff, and the main page says the final threshold can vary with the number of applicants. Treat any percentile from a coaching site or an older batch as an estimate unless IMI publishes it as an official current-cycle rule.
How much is the application fee?
The official admissions page lists a non-refundable application processing charge of ₹2,500 for the stated two-year programme application scope. Check the current portal before payment and distinguish this processing charge from tuition and other programme costs.
What happens after shortlisting?
Shortlisted candidates proceed to an Individual Assessment. The current portal describes video assessment and a personal interview; the main admissions page identifies January-February 2027 as the tentative assessment period. Follow the instructions in your application account if the schedule changes.







