Start with the right intake
ISM Patna offers a two-year, full-time Postgraduate Diploma in Management (PGDM). The institute describes it as equivalent to an MBA, but it is a diploma programme, not an MBA degree awarded by a university. The official programme page describes six trimesters, core management study in the first year, second-year electives and a summer internship. That is useful context when comparing the course with university MBA programmes: compare the actual award, curriculum, schedule and fees, not just the equivalence phrase.
For applicants considering the 2027-28 intake, the available pages do not yet provide a complete 2027-28 admission calendar or a cycle-specific notice. The admissions pages currently show material for the 2026-28 cohort. Treat that information as a guide to the institute’s published process, not a promise that every condition will remain the same for the next cohort. Wait for a dated notice or confirm details with the admissions office before paying an application or admission fee.
Eligibility and accepted tests
The official eligibility page says applicants need a bachelor’s degree from an AIU-approved university. It lists a minimum of 60% marks or equivalent CGPA in graduation, with 45% stated for SC/ST applicants and persons with disabilities (PWD). The page names CAT, CMAT, MAT and XAT as accepted management entrance tests. It does not give an exam-wise percentile threshold in the captured eligibility and selection pages, so do not read the list of accepted tests as a guarantee that any score qualifies for shortlisting.
If you are applying with a degree from outside the usual university system, confirm that the awarding institution meets the AIU-approval condition. Applicants in a reserved or disability category should ask the institute what documentation it requires for the stated threshold. The official page does not spell out how equivalent CGPA is converted to a percentage, whether a particular test year is mandatory, or whether all four exams are treated identically. Those are sensible questions to resolve before submitting the form.
How shortlisting and selection work
ISM’s admission-process page describes a two-stage path after application. First, the institute shortlists candidates using past academic performance and CAT, MAT, XAT or CMAT scores. Shortlisted applicants are then invited to a Personality Assessment and Communication Test. The page does not specify the test format, mode, duration, location or scoring rubric, so candidates should not assume it is a conventional group discussion or interview without confirmation.
The merit list is described as considering management entrance test performance, past academic records, the final assessment, extracurricular activities and relevant work experience, if any. The institute does not publish weights for these components in the captured page. Use this list to prepare a complete application and to discuss your experience clearly, but do not calculate a predicted selection score from an invented weightage. The process may be updated for a later intake; check the notice attached to your own application cycle.
Applying while your degree is in progress
Final-year students awaiting results may apply, according to the eligibility page. It says they must submit their results by November 30, but does not attach a year or intake to that date. The selection page separately says a selected final-year student may receive provisional admission and must complete graduation requirements before classes begin, identified there as the second week of July. These statements describe two different checkpoints: submission of final results and completion of the degree before classes.
Because the pages do not identify the applicable year for either timing condition, confirm the dates for your intake in writing. Ask what counts as proof of completion, how pending backlogs are handled and which date controls if the result submission deadline differs from the start-of-classes requirement. Do not rely on a previous cohort’s November or July timing for a new offer.
Application form and timing
The admission-process page says the form is available through the city office and can also be downloaded from the institute’s website. The schedule displayed there begins on December 15, 2025, while a site banner refers to applications for the 2026-28 cohort. These are prior-cycle indicators rather than a forward deadline for 2027-28. The displayed 2026-28 banner is a prior-cohort reference, not confirmation that a later intake is open. Confirm current status before relying on it.
Use the official website to locate the current form and verify its intake label. Before paying, check the form’s submission date, required attachments, accepted test-score year, application fee and payment instructions. The admissions pages captured for this guide do not provide one complete, clearly dated 2027-28 checklist. If a downloadable form or notice conflicts with the website banner, ask the admissions office which document governs and retain its written response.
Questions worth settling before you apply
For a 2027-28 application, confirm five points directly: whether a new intake notice has been issued; which CAT, CMAT, MAT or XAT score years are accepted; whether the stated graduation thresholds and category rules have changed; the Personality Assessment and Communication Test format; and the final dates for application, result submission and document verification. Ask for the current fee schedule separately, because this admissions page does not establish programme fees.
ISM Patna lists [email protected] and phone numbers 9102678001 to 9102678005 on its official admissions page. Its campus address is Sarari-Usri Road, Khagaul, Patna, Bihar. Use the contact information shown on the current official site and include the intended intake in your message. A clear written answer is more useful than applying a date from an older page to a new cohort.
Common admission questions
Is ISM Patna’s PGDM an MBA? The institute calls the two-year PGDM equivalent to an MBA, but the qualification named on its programme page is a Postgraduate Diploma in Management. Candidates who need a specific degree title for employment or further study should ask the receiving employer or university whether this qualification meets its rules.
Does ISM publish a fixed CAT or CMAT cutoff? The captured official pages identify accepted tests and the shortlisting factors, but do not state an exam-wise percentile cutoff. Ask the admissions office for the current intake’s criteria rather than treating a third-party cutoff estimate as official.
Can a final-year student apply? The eligibility page says yes, subject to submitting results by its stated November 30 deadline. Because that page does not specify the year, obtain the deadline for your own intake before applying.







