AIMA’s December 2026 MAT notice permits graduates in any discipline to apply and also allows final-year students of graduate courses to apply. That is the test-entry rule; it does not mean every MBA or PGDM programme has the same academic threshold. AIMA’s general FAQ says final-year candidates appear provisionally and that the minimum graduation percentage usually varies by management institute or university. The institution’s own current prospectus or admission notice therefore decides whether a candidate meets programme eligibility.
Basic eligibility to sit MAT
For the December 2026 administration, AIMA’s candidate information lists two education routes: a graduate in any discipline, or a student in the final year of a graduate course. AIMA’s general FAQ describes the final-year route as provisional and gives examples of undergraduate courses. A candidate in the latter group should read the target school’s requirements for completing the degree, submitting final results and proving graduation. AIMA’s test eligibility does not itself specify an institution’s document deadline or the consequence of not completing the degree by that date.
The official December notice does not state a minimum percentage for taking MAT. AIMA’s FAQ says there is usually a minimum percentage requirement at the management institute or university level and that it differs by institute. Consequently, there is no single MAT percentage threshold that can be applied to all participating schools. A candidate who is close to a school’s minimum should confirm the exact calculation, accepted degree and qualifying year with that programme before paying an application fee.
AIMA’s FAQ states that there is no age bar and that work experience is not necessary to appear in MAT. These statements apply to sitting the exam. A school may impose separate conditions for admission, a particular programme or a specialisation. Check the current programme notice rather than assuming that the test-level rule overrides it. The current sources reviewed do not establish one universal reservation or category rule for every MAT-accepting institution. Category eligibility, certificate format, domicile conditions and any reserved-seat process must be checked with the relevant school and authority.
Test eligibility versus programme eligibility
There are two separate decisions. AIMA decides whether a candidate can register for and take the MAT administration under its published exam conditions. Each business school decides which degree, marks, test score and other conditions its programme requires. A candidate may meet AIMA’s graduate or final-year exam rule while failing a particular programme’s marks requirement, or may qualify for a programme but still need to complete its own application and selection process.
AIMA’s current FAQ says participation changes from test to test and admission criteria differ among institutes. Its December 2026 candidate information also cautions that MAT score acceptance by a listed participant can differ in practice and asks candidates to reconfirm with the institution or university. Before registering on the assumption that a school will consider the score, verify the exact institution, campus and programme. Confirm that it accepts the December 2026 administration, what degree and marks it requires, whether it has a separate application deadline, and whether there are additional selection stages.
AIMA’s notice tells candidates to select the institutes where they have applied or are applying. Selecting an institute for score sending does not amount to submitting that institute’s application. It also does not establish that the institute has accepted the candidate or granted admission. Treat the school’s official admission notice as the controlling source for programme eligibility, selection steps, fees and document requirements.
Final-year candidates
Final-year students may use the route AIMA describes, but should treat it as provisional. That matters because an exam application can precede the award of the qualifying degree. Check whether the programme requires completion before registration, counselling, document verification or joining, and whether it sets a minimum aggregate across all semesters or years. The official sources opened for this page do not give one common MAT-wide date by which all final-year candidates must complete graduation. Any date or percentage presented as universal would therefore be misleading.
Keep academic records available for the application stages required by the target institution. AIMA’s candidate page lists a valid email, scanned photograph and signature, and payment details among the items to prepare for MAT registration; these are exam application materials, not a complete list of documents for school admission. The programme may separately ask for mark sheets, proof of degree completion or category documents. Use the school’s checklist and the live MAT portal, and do not assume that uploading a document for one process satisfies the other.
If final-year results are delayed or a degree is not completed by the institute’s required deadline, contact the institution directly and retain its written response. AIMA’s exam eligibility alone cannot resolve whether a particular school will accept a provisional academic record or grant an extension. Do not rely on informal discussion boards or another institute’s practice to determine a programme’s rule.
Age, work experience and other conditions
AIMA’s general FAQ says there is no age bar to appear in MAT and no job experience is necessary for exam entry. A candidate without work experience may therefore sit the test if the education condition is met. This does not mean that every school ignores work history; an institute may assess it as part of selection or impose a programme-specific condition. Likewise, an age condition set by a school, scholarship or other authority would need to be checked separately.
AIMA’s December candidate information does not specify a universal minimum graduation percentage, reservation framework, domicile condition, attempt limit or programme-specific age rule. The sources reviewed do not support assigning such a rule to all MAT candidates. If a candidate is relying on a category benefit or a special eligibility route, check the programme’s current admission notice and the responsible institution’s document instructions. If the notice is silent, ask the admissions office before the relevant application deadline.
What to verify before paying
Use this sequence to resolve eligibility without confusing exam registration with admission:
- Confirm the degree route. Identify whether you already hold a graduate degree or are in its final year. Match the degree and completion timing to AIMA’s current candidate conditions.
- Check the programme’s academic threshold. Read the current prospectus for the exact programme and campus. Confirm the accepted degree, minimum marks, calculation method and treatment of final-year results.
- Check additional conditions. Verify work-experience, age, category, domicile, reservation and document rules only where the programme or its governing authority states them. MAT does not supply one universal answer for these conditions.
- Confirm MAT acceptance. Ask whether the programme accepts the December 2026 MAT administration and how it uses the score. AIMA specifically advises candidates to reconfirm acceptance with the institute.
- Keep both applications in view. Complete MAT registration and the school’s own application separately, and note each deadline. AIMA’s score-recipient selection is not the programme application.
A candidate’s best next step depends on the institution being considered. If the prospectus clearly covers the candidate’s degree and current marks, preserve that evidence with the application. If it does not, ask the admissions office to clarify in writing rather than interpreting the MAT eligibility statement as a waiver. This is especially useful for final-year applicants, candidates whose degree title differs from the usual examples, and candidates who depend on a category or domicile rule.
Current-cycle boundary
This page uses AIMA’s active December 2026 candidate information for the current test. The official notice does not announce eligibility changes for a 2027 MAT cycle. AIMA’s general FAQ supplies durable guidance on final-year candidates, institute-specific percentages, age and work experience, but it should not be used to predict later rules. When a later administration is announced, check its own notice and each target programme’s admission requirements again.
In practical terms, meeting MAT’s exam eligibility is only permission to take the test. It is not a substitute for the school’s academic eligibility, a guarantee that a score will be accepted or an admission offer. Confirm the programme-specific conditions before applying, and retain a clear record of the official sources used for both decisions.

