For XAT 2027, the official eligibility FAQ says an applicant needs a recognised bachelor’s degree of at least three years’ duration, or an equivalent qualification, in any discipline. Candidates appearing for their final examinations by 11 June 2027 may also apply. The FAQ says all Indian candidates must take XAT 2027, while NRI, foreign, OCI and PIO candidates may apply through GMAT. These are exam-level eligibility directions; registration for XAT does not itself secure admission to XLRI or another participating institute.
Academic qualification
The published standard does not restrict applicants to a particular undergraduate subject. The key conditions stated for XAT 2027 are recognition of the degree, a minimum duration of three years or equivalent, and completion in any discipline. The official FAQ expressly includes candidates whose final examinations will be held by 11 June 2027. A student still completing a degree should compare their expected examination completion date with that cutoff and ensure the institution’s schedule permits it.
The source does not state a minimum percentage for taking XAT 2027. Do not import an academic percentage from an individual school’s admissions rules and treat it as a general XAT requirement. A participating college may set its own criteria for a specific programme, and XLRI programme requirements can also differ. Check the programme’s current admissions page separately before assuming that meeting XAT’s exam eligibility is sufficient.
Nationality and route
The XAT 2027 FAQ distinguishes the required test route by applicant group: all Indian candidates must appear for XAT, while NRI, foreign, OCI and PIO applicants may apply through GMAT. The FAQ’s statement concerns applications and routes; it should not be read as a blanket guarantee that every programme accepts every route under identical conditions. Review the current programme instructions for the institution and course you intend to apply to.
If you are applying to XLRI, the official FAQ says that XAT registration alone does not automatically register you for an XLRI programme. You must select and apply for the relevant XLRI programme separately. The same general caution applies to other participating institutes: each maintains its own selection process and criteria. A valid XAT score can be one part of an application, not an offer of admission.
Work experience and age
The eligibility answer for XAT 2027 does not list prior work experience as a condition for appearing for the test. It also does not state an age limit in the cited eligibility answer. Applicants should avoid converting programme-specific requirements into universal exam rules. For instance, an executive or work-experience programme may require relevant experience even when the entrance-test eligibility itself does not.
The official FAQ specifically says that internship or articleship is not counted as work experience and that only full-time experience gained after graduation is considered. It also says experience before graduation is not counted. These answers matter when completing programme-related work history, but they do not change the stated academic threshold for taking XAT. If work experience affects a programme you are applying to, follow that programme’s definition and evidence requirements.
Final-year applicants: what to check
A final-year candidate can apply if their final examinations are completed by 11 June 2027, according to the XAT 2027 FAQ. The FAQ also advises applicants who have not completed graduation to enter aggregate marks obtained through the last semester or year available at the time of filling the form. This is an application-entry instruction, not permission to leave degree completion unresolved after the stated cutoff.
Before submitting, verify the spelling and identity details in the application against official certificates and confirm that the expected completion date meets the official condition. The registration page warns that details cannot be changed after final submission and payment, while the FAQ says changes after submission are generally not permitted except where absolutely necessary through a dashboard query. This makes a careful review worthwhile before payment.
Historical context and source limits
The official 2026 bulletin is a prior-cycle document. It is useful for understanding that XAT publishes a separate bulletin each year, but it must not override the explicit 2027 eligibility FAQ. This page therefore uses the FAQ’s 2027 qualification and final-exam cutoff and does not apply older cycle-specific details to the current cycle.
Eligibility is only the first screening question. After checking it, identify the exact programme and institute, confirm that you completed its separate application, and review its own selection criteria. The official XAT 2027 FAQ is the responsible source for the exam-level conditions; the XAT registration page explains the application process and cautions that submitted details may not be editable.
Programme eligibility is a separate check
Eligibility answers whether you can apply for the test, not whether an application is complete. The registration page asks applicants to select preferred test cities and, if interested, an XLRI programme. The official FAQ distinguishes the common test from individual institute admission. After checking the degree and completion cutoff, shortlist target programmes and verify each programme’s route, documents and selection steps on that institution’s current page.

